Joe Torre the coward

In a recent podcast, former Yankee David Wells called Joe Torre a “coward”. Here is the quote in full:

Quote:

“I had [Yankees pitching coach] Mel Stottlemyre come up to me in ’97 and tell me they were going to sit me out in the first round against Cleveland,” Wells told us. “I said, ‘If you’re going to sit me out the first round, you might as well just send me home.’ That pissed me off because I won like 15, 16 games for them. […] That’s pretty degrading when you have your manager tell your pitching coach to tell you, ‘Hey, you’re going to sit out,’ rather than telling you himself. That’s what Joe Torre is to me, a coward.

“I don’t like him at all. As a manager, I think he’s terrible. He wasn’t a fair manager. He didn’t treat people the same. He definitely didn’t treat me the same. […] If he tells you anything else, he’s a liar.”

Talk about being blunt.

Now, I don’t hate Joe Torre, but I’m not his biggest fan. He is one of the more overrated managers in baseball history. Yes, he won four World Series, but the teams he had were not only insanely good, but had their share of luck come the SSS of playoff baseball (hello, 2000 and 2001). He’s been given too much credit for the Yankees success, considering managers have actual little affect on outcomes of games as, in the end, it is the players who play the game. His in-game managing is brutal (A-Rod batting 8th) and he sure knows how to ruin a bullpen (Scott Proctor, Jon Broxton).

More to what Boomer is saying and something that often goes unnoticed- he treats players unfairly. This is not the first time someone has accused Torre of that type of behavior. Both Kenny Lofton and Gary Sheffield complained of receiving different treatment from Torre. Alex Rodriguez also had his differences with the former Yankees manager.

The MSM has a deep love affair with Joe Torre- mainly because he is considered a winning manager. But lets take a step back from the field. On many repeated instances, his leadership and character have been questioned. Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me. I think it’s about time people start changing their tune about “Clueless” Joe and start to examine his character a little bit further.


Explore posts in the same categories: All Posts, Baseball general

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

